Growing Up Is..Weird.

Never have I been too fond of “growing up” and being an “adult”. I will forever be a kid at heart so don’t go planting weird “you’re an adult now” implications in my head. I was told that once you were done high school, you’d be entering the real world. WELL, I’ve been in this SHELTERED “real world” for the past two and  a half years…yes, I call UBC/large universities in general, “sheltered” – UBC can be very ‘bubble-esque’. Once I’ve graduated from UBC, I can say I’ve ‘officially’ entered the real world, regardless of the fact that I’m going to do more school. BUT, in order to not completely feel lost in this so called real world, I need to find a job…or something of the sort that relates to what I want to do with my life – jobs aren’t easy to find(*scary*), but networking, that should be your hobby. Don’t be scared to put yourself out there, it does more good than harm, usually. Moving on…so a lot of my friends from high school are at that point in their lives where they’re moving into the next chapter of their life……that whole marriage business and starting fresh lifestyles with their significant other/spouse, it completely blows my mind how much people can change in a few short years. Sometimes it feels like I’m just a kid that goes to school, and then these friends of mine seem so much more mature, getting married and starting their long term lifestyles….I can’t do that. I’m still kinda figuring out my life and who I want to be and where I want to be, and how I  can get there – baby steps, one corner of the puzzle at a time.  The first 5-7 years after you graduate from high school are probably some of the most significantly life changing years of your life. So much can happen/change in the few years after you graduate relative to the change you experienced in the same amount of years, during grade school. As per usual, I say all this as if I’m some expert, like the whole ‘5-7 years’ thing, where on earth did I even pick up that statistic from? It has barely been 3 years since I’ve graduated from high school, but I can vouch that a TON has changed for me already, so obviously I’m a reliable source. 

Random promotion: UBC Peer Programs … UBC Peer Programs Application I strongly encourage you to apply, especially if you’re a first year right now(but really, it’s never too late), get involved! Apply to be a MUG leader as well! You won’t regret your decision and you’ll probably meet some of the best people around and make a lot of great connections with fellow peers and leaders! (Applications are due by February 6th). 

One thought on “Growing Up Is..Weird.

thoughts..?

