Here Today, Gone Tomorrow

The end of a school year is rather bittersweet for most people. The sweet part – it’s summer, you’re thrilled to be done with school, and hoping that all your “hard work” has paid off and that you end up with favourable final results; and then the bitter part – the goodbyes, especially to those living far away from you and those that won’t be returning to your school in the fall. I have never been good at goodbyes, I hate them, hate hate hate hate hate. I used to think that it was just easier to just leave without any form of acknowledgement of a farewell – but no, I was wrong. Finding out that someone is leaving is probably one of the most heartbreaking things to hear. Over the past month, I have felt like people are coming into my life and leaving it like rapid fire. Why, I ask myself. Why aren’t people there to stay? The only ‘conclusion’ I’ve come up with is that people come into your life for a reason, maybe it’s to set your path straight, or for some motivation or inspiration, or for you to appreciate yourself more and to help you find your self worth, or maybe it’s something else. Then, once what they needed to do is done, their time is up for one reason or another, and before you know it, they’re leaving – or so that’s how it’s felt for me lately. 
This whole second term has been an “eye opening” term, and I would probably consider it my best term(on a WIDE spectrum of things , ie., academically, socially, personally, emotionally, etc etc etc) in the 2 years I’ve been at UBC. I’ve learned a lot about myself through people I’ve met/”re”-met. I’ve shut myself in…and out..and I’ve realized things about myself which I should have figured out long ago. I’ve been the happiest I’ve been in a long time, and probably even the most emotionally confused I’ve been in a while. I’m thankful for certain people that I’ve met this term and those that have stuck beside me and my ups and downs; without most of them, I wouldn’t have had that “push” that I needed in order to carry on with things and gain the motivation that I had to just complete the term and get on with life. Regardless of all that, I’m at that point where I can “quote” Bob Marley and say ‘Don’t worry about a thing, ’cause every little thing gonna be all right.’

 

2 thoughts on “Here Today, Gone Tomorrow

    • Thank you, thank you! Didn’t feel like I wanted to be too much of a downer! Every negative has a positive or two to counteract it. All the best to you in the fall with your new chapter in life! 🙂

thoughts..?

