10 000 WOOOOO! & Some Reminiscing.

So I was just checking my blog, like I usually do, and I noticed that the view count hit 10 000 – I was completely mind blown by this, not in the sense where I’m like “OH MY GOSH, I’M SO POPULAR!” — I really don’t think that. But it just blows my mind because I started this blog near the end of grade 12(June 2011)… I think during provincial exam time, so school was technically over by then. PLUS this blog is pretty ‘anonymous’ for the most part, I personally have told 2 people(they wouldn’t tell anyone), other than my family–interesting to know what people can stumble across on the internet. AT THE SAME TIME, it makes me curious if people I actually know have come across this blog(and they don’t even know who’s writing it), and then there’s the ‘creepy’ aspect of, I don’t even know who EXACTLY is reading all this ‘personal’ stuff about me. I was ‘inspired’ to start a blog after stumbling across a bunch of blog posts by a first year UBC science student. I mean, I had seen a couple other blogs by other UBC students, they just didn’t really have the same effect on me. For the longest time I had been wanting to start a blog kind of thing…but I had been putting it off, and after seeing that one girl’s blog, I was like WHY NOT! It was the end of one chapter, and the start of a new one, so it was technically the ideal time to start a blog, and I thought it would be great to look back on in the future. My main point was just documenting my life, and giving a whole rambling journey about the transition from high school – university, and all the excitement and stuff that accompanied it. And now that I’m going into second year, all the things that I wrote about, can be relevant to the new incoming freshmen, because they probably feel somewhat the same way I did. Now what I really want to try doing is helping out new freshmen with my own experiences and just giving it to them straight without sugar coating anything. 

Let’s hit rewind and reminisce….

Today I was thinking a lot about my first year experience as a whole…why? because I was thinking about how a year ago, I was getting ready with my class to go on the BEST trip of our high school lives — GRAD TRIP! May long weekend of 2011 — we went on a grad trip, houseboating. YES! It was also last year around May 21? that some guy said the world would end…and I remember a couple of my friends and I just talking about it and thinking “wow, great, the ‘world is going to end’ and we’re on  a houseboat in the middle of some lake, awesome” –> apparently the world didn’t end, ‘cuz I’m writing this. YAY. Thinking back on that and how much has changed in this span of one year, I sometimes honestly feel like I’m living a different life completely. That probably sounds kind of far-fetchedly crazy, but it’s true, and I don’t know how many of you can possibly relate to that? Maybe more than I think? I don’t know. The past year has probably had the most changes I have ever experienced in such a short period of time, but that just makes it all the more exciting. I can honestly say that the people I have met at UBC have completely opened my eyes and ‘exposed’ me to a lot of things that I didn’t think I would be ‘exposed’ to — all in a good way haha. Some of the people I have met here, are probably the most genuine people EVER, and sometimes I think ‘wow, you honestly, inspire me, and make me want to be a better person.’ I can’t get over how appreciative I am of the friends that I have met this year, and I hope all you guys come into UBC and find where you fit and make some amazing, lifelong friends. GIMME SOME SAP AND PUT IT ON SOME BREAD. =) 

thoughts..?

