FIRST YEAR PLAYLIST – Music Soothes The Soul. BLOGGA!

I’m in a super happy mood right now— why? because Levels is playing right now, and music really makes me feel happy. I don’t know about you guys, but whenever I hear a song, I USUALLY tend to have some sort of ‘memory’ linked to it. I’m not entirely sure if that’s completely weird, although I’m quite sure that it’s not that crazy! For the most part, a lot of the most recent ‘Top 40’ songs all remind me of first year at UBC (memories from dances, or had relatable lyrics, fun songs that my friends and I would listen to and go crazy over, songs that I just had a crazy obsession with, etc).

Here are a few songs that really ‘represent’ my first year music playlist. Keyword: few, so obviously this isn’t all of it, and it isn’t in any particular order.

  1. Levels – Avicii
  2. Payphone – Maroon 5 ft. Wiz Khalifa
  3. Somebody That I Used To Know – Gotye (and the Walk Off the Earth cover was REALLY awesome too!)
  4. We Are Young – Fun ft Janelle Monae
  5. Dance Again – J.Lo ft Pitbull
  6. International Love – Pitbull ft. Chris Brown
  7. Happily Ever After – He is We
  8. Ours – Taylor Swift
  9. Whistle – Flo Rida
  10. Starships – Nicki Minaj
  11. Superbass – Nicki Minaj
  12. Wild Ones – Flo Rida ft Sia
  13. Stronger – Kelly Clarkson
  14. Feel So Close – Calvin Harris (this is more of a recent favourite though, I didn’t really like it when I heard it at first)
  15. Glad You Came – The Wanted (this brings back such great memories of the last dance of the year!! :’) )
  16. Drive By – Train
  17. What Makes You Beautiful – One Direction (I would like to let you all know, this song was my favourite song back in like October, before people even knew who One Direction WAS – so hipster.)
  18. Blame It On September – Allstar Weekend (Whatever happened to those guys? 😛 )
  19. If I Die Young – The Band Perry
  20. Call Me Maybe – Carly Rae Jepsen (Once again, I liked this song before the Beebs made it famous — but I LOVE this song)
  21. Part of Me – Katy Perry
  22. Summer Paradise – Simple Plan ft. Sean Paul
  23. One Thing – One Direction
  24. Good Feeling – Flo Rida
  25. Curiosity – Carly Rae Jepsen
  26. Paradise – Coldplay
  27. Yellow- Coldplay
  28. Someone Like You – Adele
  29. Domino – Jessie J
  30. So Good – B.o.B 
  31. Wagon Wheel – Old Crown Medicine Show
  32. Give Your Heart A Break – Demi Lavato
  33. Fallout – Marianas Trench
  34. Party Rock Anthem – LMFAO (of course)
  35. One Life – Hedley
  36. Invincible – Hedley
  37. We Found Love – Rihanna ft. Calvin Harris
  38. Cheers(Drink To That) – Rihanna
  39. Pumped Up Kicks – Foster The People
  40. Ass Back Home – Gym Class Heroes ft. Neon Hitch
  41. Brighter Than The Sun – Colbie Callait
  42. I Won’t Give Up – Jason Mraz
  43. Just A Kiss – Lady Antebellum
  44. God Gave Me You – Blake Shelton
  45. Turn Me On – David Guetta ft. Nicki Minaj
  46. Set Fire To The Rain – Adele
  47. Good Life – One Republic (summer 2011 ish)
  48. It Girl – Jason Derulo
  49. Merry Go Round – Suzie McNeil
  50. Titanium – David Guetta ft. Sia
  51. Fly – Nicki Minaj ft. Rihanna
  52. Jet Lag- Simple Plan ft. Natasha Bedingfield (this was more of a summer 2011 song though…leading up to first year, so it counts)
  53. All About Us – He is We ft. Owl City
  54. Stuck Like Glue – Sugarland 
  55. Save You Tonight – One Direction
  56. Get Low – Lil Jon (I think they played this at every dance! to the windoooooowww, to the wall…😛 )
  57. Firework – Katy Perry ( background: I had a major obsession with this song a year or two ago, and they played this at the Vanier Winter Formal dance, and my heart just burst into happiness, and my friend and I just screamed this at the top of our lungs! Fun times.)
  58. Falling in Love – Ironik ft. Jessica Lowndes 

OKAY. That was A LOT, and those were just from the top of my head, and that’s not even ALL OF IT!

5 thoughts on “FIRST YEAR PLAYLIST – Music Soothes The Soul. BLOGGA!

  1. Pingback: SECOND YEAR PLAYLIST. | .ravishingrambles.

  2. I love the upbeat, happy tone of your post and many of those songs are on my playlist too. TY for stopping by my blog and have an awesome week ahead! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Music: Call Me Soulful Saturday Anyway… | Mirth and Motivation

thoughts..?

