We Gon’ Party Like, Like It’s 2012: Taking A Trip Down Memory Lane…FAREWELL 2011

So it’s the last day of the year two thousand and eleven…December 31st…with a few hours left of 2011, I am going to reflect back on the wonderfully awesome things that came my way in past year. This year has definitely been one where I’ve experienced a lot of things….lots of changes and new experiences. Graduation, starting university, new friendships, and getting a whole new perspective on the ‘real world’ (life after grad). It has definitely been an AWESOME year. Even though lots has changed, and new experiences have come my way, the old memories continue to live on. Graduation was a big thing for one, being done with high school? OH HECK YES!! 😀 😀  Looking back on the last four months, when I first started UBC, it’s amazing to see how different my life is. All summer, my friend and I had all sorts of extreme emotions about going away to UBC, we were filled with happiness and excitement to nervousness and hesitancy….we were going from a place where we had all of our friends and all our comforts at hand, to a place that was pretty new, in the sense that we wouldn’t really know anyone there. The anticipation of going to UBC was crazy!  Living away from home….I couldn’t even imagine it, but I was excited. I was excited for this new opportunity that was coming my way..’out with the old, and in with the new’ … I had felt like that change in environment and this whole ‘new way of life’ thing was much needed. I remember feeling so ready to just start fresh, and start anew. I had gone to the same school since grade 8, pretty much had the same friends all the way through high school (for the most part)…and I love them all very much, and I wouldn’t be the person I am today without them. Once September came…it was time for move in day….I remember my parents and I putting everything into the van to go into Vancouver…and I was like “oh my goodness, this is actually happening! This is the day that I’ve been waiting for and dreading all at the same time!”  — once we had reached UBC it was great, and for the first time in a long time, I had felt like it was such a fresh start, no one knew me, and I didn’t know them….THIS WAS WHAT I WANTED! The first friends that I had made at UBC, I’m still friends with them to this day, and it’s great. I kept making more and more friends as time went on, and meeting all these people from practically around the world – England, China, Peru, Japan, France, India, Switzerland, Slovakia, Saudi Arabia, Italy, Trinidad and Tobago, Thailand, Bangladesh, Germany, Lebanon, Brazil, Hong Kong, Singapore, South Africa, Zimbabwe, United Arab Emirates,… – you name it, UBCs got it. Meeting such a variety of people from such diverse cultures is an experience in itself. And living away from home is pretty interesting too!

This past year has shaped who I am today so greatly, and I want to just give a HUUUUUGEEE thank you to: all the amazing people that have been in my life since I’ve been born (mainly family, I am SO blessed to have such an amazing and supportive family behind me in every step that I take…always helping me push forward and to believe in myself.). Friends from elementary school that have stuck with me, young memories forever! ❤ All my awesome friends from high school (honestly couldn’t have asked for better friends, we’ve all been through lots together and every ‘down’ just continues to shape and strengthen us. and all the memories that we’ve made throughout the years will always be remembered.). All the teachers from my high school that never gave up on me, always helping me through things that I was struggling with -you are all amazing people and have greatly influenced me spiritually and in who I am today. Everyone that I have met along the way, there was a reason you guys came into my life! And now presently, the super awesome and amazing friends that I have met during my new journey at UBC, honestly, what would the last four months have been like without you guys? I don’t even want to think about it! You guys have really made this journey spectacular and I wouldn’t trade it for anything! I could seriously go ON AND ON about how great each and every one of you are, but that would take WAY too long! And to my crazy roommate, you MAKE my life girl! I am so glad that we get to share this new ‘adventure’ that life threw at us, together, you make my life… not dull. There is honestly NEVER a dull moment with you, and I am SO grateful that we’re friends. I don’t know what I would have done without you. We complete each other, I know you agree with me. 😉 You’re the vanilla icing to my cupcake. ❤ And thank you God for doing such amazing things in my life in the past year, faith in you gives me strength and courage. 

Once again, I love you all!!!! And thank you for giving me the best year yet! Farewell 2011… HELLO 2012! 😀 

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!

thoughts..?

