RandomRamblings: Music // Midterms // First Year @ UBC Overall // Social Life + Friends

I’m just being “lazy” (HELLOOOO.. I’m a university student, this doesn’t exist in my vocabulary) and mashing up everything into one post, instead of making separate posts about it (aren’t I clever? teehee). 

MUSIC

I’m actually listening to music and eating ice-cream as I’m typing this… I’ve found that listening to music stimulates blogging-ness. So lately I’ve been liking a lot of “new” songs…only some of the songs I’m going to list are actually new….the rest  of them really aren’t very NEW…they’re just songs that I never liked when they first came out(months and months ago), but now I like them. 

  • Fly – Nicki Minaj ft. Rihanna
  • Cheers(Drink To That) – Rihanna
  • We Found Love – Rihanna ft. Calvin Harris
  • Good Feeling – Flo Rida (I guess this isn’t really at the top of my music list though, but it’s still quite catchy)
  • I Like It Like That – Hot Chelle Rae
  • Mr. Know It All- Kelly Clarkson
  • The One That Got Away – Katy Perry
  • Pumped Up Kicks- Foster The People
  • Invincible – Hedley
  • Wish You Were Here – Avril Lavigne
  • Someone Like You – Adele
  • Songs from SIMPLE PLAN’s ‘new’ album ‘Get Your Heart On!’
—– And also, Hedley is releasing their newest album ‘Storms’ on November 8th.. SO EXCITED!! I actually WANT to get the CD, haven’t bought a CD in YEARS!!! …but maybe I’ll just buy it off of iTunes…it’s cheaper haha. 
MIDTERMS – and Daylight Savings
I have two midterms left in first semester….SO WEIRD. All that I have left are Math 100 and Chem 121 (I’m really not looking forward to this one). Wow, those two exams are just a little over a week away from now…..last time I checked I still had like 2.5 weeks left until those midterms. Time is going by so fast, I need it to slow down… and TOMORROW daylight savings ends…or begins? I’ve never really understood that, I understand it’s not that difficult of a concept…but whatever, I don’t get it. BUT REMEMBER TO TURN BACK YOUR CLOCKS AN HOUR!!! “FALL back, and SPRING forward” — My grade 4 teacher taught us that, and I thought that that was the coolest thing ever. 
FIRST YEAR @ UBC OVERALL
I’m thinking that I’ll be doing a separate post on this once first semester is done…so I’m not going to say TOO much. So there’s just less than a month left of regular classes….which is super crazy, I don’t even want to think about it. But my UBC experience has been WAY BETTER THAN ANYTHING I COULD HAVE EVER IMAGINED! Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t go into first year thinking it was going to be horrible, I came with pretty high expectations, and I have not yet been disappointed! It’s amazing. I would actually re-live the days since I got to UBC, in a heartbeat, but obviously I can’t do that, so I’m just going to continue making the best out of the present. If you are considering UBC….be SERIOUS about it…it is by far the best place EVER! UBC is BEAUTIFUL. Good looking people(hehe), good looking campus(it’s a to die for campus), good looking profs (uhh..awkward), everything’s just so darn good looking! And academics are super FINE. I’m not going to sugar-coat things and say that it’s been a breeze academically, because it really hasn’t been. But the thing is, there are so many people here that know what you’re going through, you’re not ‘struggling’ through it by yourself, everyone here CARES about you, and it makes you feel like you’re not alone(because you really aren’t alone on anything).
SOCIAL LIFE + FRIENDS
University, it’s a big place…lots of people, and you can’t be friends with everyone. You just have to get used to that. You have to build your social circles slowly, but well. Choose wisely, and be yourself. I can’t really say I had this ‘problem’, but in high school it’s like you’re SUPPOSED to act in a certain way/be a certain type of person, influenced  by other people….in university, you need to really know who you are, and not get influenced by other people. You can’t have a wishy-washy personality…you need to stick to what’s true and what’s you. There are so many different kinds of people here, and you’re bound to fit in with a certain group of people. To enjoy your life ‘socially’, you need a solid understanding of who you really are, and just go with it, once again, just BE YOURSELF. I love my friends at UBC, they are amazing, and I couldn’t ask for anything better…they are what I would call TRUE friends, the kind that you can count on when you need help, the ones that can be themselves around you, and you can be yourself around them,  and the ones that you know you can have a guaranteed good time with. Friends truly help shape the experience that you have at university, and I’m truly blessed to be able to call these lovely people that I have met this year, my friends. ❤ 
6 thoughts on “RandomRamblings: Music // Midterms // First Year @ UBC Overall // Social Life + Friends

  1. “FALL back, and SPRING forward”
    This is the best phrase I have ever heard, now I will be able to remember HOW the daylight savings thing works now LOL :’D

    True that @ making friends – I also feel that it’s not TOO competitive at UBC as well, despite what I was initially told before I started first year, for the same reasons. There will be many competitive students, no doubt about that, but there will be others who are not-so-competitive, which IMO helps ease the stress of school and grades. Right now my program is full of competitive/smart students and I’m always feeling pressured to put more effort into studying -___-. 70’s is no longer a decent grade… sighhhhh

    • You’ve never heard that phrase before?! whaat??? clearly you didn’t have a super awesome grade 4 teacher to teach you such things. 😛
      I still feel ‘not smart’ around the majority of the people at UBC, not gonna lie haha. I need to find dumb friends >.< kidding! smart kids are an asset. But it kinda sucks knowing that the majority of my friends have an average of like 80%+ …whereas I'm not quite up there yet…and probably won't be in first semester..but I've accepted that 😦 …… I just need to find something I'm good at….'cuz as of right now I just feel like I don't have one subject that I'm really good at… I'm not a fan of Biol 112, and I definitely don't feel like it's one of my 'strong' subjects…but reflecting on my midterm marks, it's the course I have the highest mark in…the subject I WANT to be good at is probably my 'lowest' …and that would be Chem 121…but I recently discovered that it's not that I'm stupid or anything…it's my prof that can't teach(I actually discovered this two months ago, just didn't do anything about it), so I started going to a different lecture and I understand Quantum Mechanics…it actually interests me. 🙂 and sadly, there's barely a month left…so I need to ACE my midterm and final in Chem 121. And don't consider it as 'feeling pressured' ….think of it as MOTIVATION. It seems like the program you're in has a lot of drive and motivation, let it rub off on you…after all, these marks mean something, and you DO want to do the best you can do right? Don't just stick to 'average'.

      • Weellll normally, having a group of competitive classmates around to drive you to do better in school is a good thing, but when it gets to the point where your whole life is revolved around school, then that’s a different story. :[ Haven’t taken time off for myself for several weeks… good thing remembrance day holiday is coming up…

    • I feel like my life revolves completely around school right now…it sucks. I feel like I can’t even make time to hang out with my friends…and it sucks SO MUCH!!! I’m only 18 I need time to have fun…. I’m envious of the Arts students that are always just chilling with their friends hahaha 😛

thoughts..?

