Wake Me Up When September Ends…

Like my super catchy and ‘original’ title for my post?!!?!? Kidding. It’s not original, AT ALL. And I don’t mean for the title to be ‘depressing’ either….it was just the first thing that popped into my head….don’t even ask. šŸ˜› But do you guys remember that song by Green Day?? ‘Wake Me Up When September Ends’ ?? I used to LOVE Green Day, about 4-6 years ago. Don’t get me wrong, I still like them, they just haven’t released anything new recently…hence the Green Day phase of mine has faded away.. Now that we’re talking about songs, have you heard Invincible by Hedley? It came out at the end of August, but I just started listening to it, and I think I’m in love. First and foremost, I absolutely ADORE Hedley!!!! šŸ˜€ And I have never HATED a song by them, they’re all just FANTASTIC. So you guys should listen to Invincible, if you haven’t already(‘cuz I’m listening to it right now,HA!).Ā 

BY THE WAY….I’m writing this post with absolutely no direction whatsoever, so don’t mind the ramblings….after all, that is my name isn’t it? ‘Rambles, Ravishing Rambles’ šŸ˜‰ ..so I guess it’s appropriate. So the rain has gone away here in Van Ciiityyyy…but I’m pretty sure it’s coming back tomorrow, or something like that. SIGH. I’m not gonna lie, the weather has been PRETTY DARN cold, so I’m hoping we get some severe winter storm with LOTS AND LOTS of snow!! šŸ˜€ Winter without snow is just depressing, don’t even talk to me about that. Oh imagine if the campus closed because it was too cold and snowy… ā¤ I’d love classes to be canceled because of the weather being too cold, it’d make my life hahaha.Ā 

I remember the first week of university, I was such a keener, I was super excited to go to all my classes…and I loved walking from class to class…….WELL! that wore off pretty quickly. Now I just want the weekend to come as soon as possible!! Weekends = CHILL TIME!Ā 

I love days when I end classes early, not like I have that many, but still, it’s such a great feeling. I feel like I can get a lot accomplished, or absolutely nothing accomplished. But so far today, I’ve gotten quite a bit accomplished, so that’s a good sign. I reward myself by letting myself blog….I have a life. I have a chem lab in two days….it’s gonna suck. I really don’t like labs. I think we’re doing something about Lead contamination in water…and I don’t really know HOW I’m supposed to prepare for it….guess I’m gonna have to just read over the Lab Manual……. *cry*

So yeah…..I think that wraps up everything I wanted to say…. Back to studying now. šŸ™‚Ā 

7 thoughts on “Wake Me Up When September Ends…

  1. UBC doesn’t really like cancelling classes :(. Last year it was really snowy and cold (I think it was around -8 degrees Celcius at one point) and I STILL had to make my way to CHEM/PHYS and every other class -_-. Langara and SFU always get cancellations for some reason or another, lucky.

    If you don’t like CHEM labs now, you will probably hate 2nd year CHEM (referring to CHEM 235 which most people have to take) LOL, because you actually perform the same techniques, and do a larger-scale re-crystallization like the one you’ll do in CHEM 121 D: Soooo good luck with that hehe

    • haha that sucks….UBC could learn that from SFU…. *shudder*

      …and yeah I think I don’t like the labs ‘cuz firstly, we were never really told anything about HOW TO PREPARE for them, so I’m slightly freaking out…which kinda sucks. And secondly, I’m just not a fan of labs haha.

      How goes BCIT? šŸ˜› And do you have any tips as to how to study for Biol 112…. the iclicker questions are so thought out (well some are just straightforward, but others have had way too much thought put into them).

      • Hah, labs get worse in CHEM 123… there aren’t even any straight-forward steps to really follow at that point anymore, AND there’s library/online research to be done to write the reports themselves. Yuck. But I kind of understand where UBC is going with that though, because you don’t really learn anything from following simple instructions… Someday, future lab-worker hopefuls will have to design their own experiments anyway, so this is considered early exposure of some sort ;d

        BCIT is alright so far, but buses SUCKKKKK. I haven’t gotten through a week without having to get a ride to school LOL -_-

        lool I remember the BIOL 112 clicker questions. I think they got progressively harder throughout a lecture itself… I hesitate to give tips, because even now, I have no clue how the people who earn A or better in this course actually do it. :S The midterm and final questions are pretty much designed to mess with your head. I read the textbook and attend all the lectures, but most of the information goes in one ear and out the other… and I only did moderately well in the course, probably because of the multiple choice = right guesses LOL. I don’t actually know my stuff šŸ˜‰

    • NOT looking forward to chem 123…….I don’t even want to think about what second year labs are like, haha. šŸ˜› So for the procedure of the labs, in chem 121….can we just do the procedure based on the ‘virtual’ lab…? is that what we’re supposed to do? I’m just utterly confused because no one bothered to inform my lab class of what was expected for the day of the lab. So we’re all pretty lost for the most part.

      oh you’re bussing….haha fun stuff. Trust me, I’d probably end up in like kamloops or something if I took a bus…I know that’s not possible, but still…I don’t understand the transport system here, and the times and stuff.

      and YES!! I agree. the clicker questions DO get harder throughout the lecture…..it makes me sad. I’m not a fan of the layout of the notes either….I just can’t wait to get through the whole diffusion/active transport stuff….I despised that stuff back in biology 12….. and I knew it’d be back to haunt me…and it HAS!

      • The virtual lab helps with your report, but it’s usually what’s in the lab manual that’s “the” thing to do xD The virtual lab helps to test your procedure so you kind of know what you’re doing for the actual lab itself. The first day of lab will be a little crazy, but after that, you will kind of know what you have to do… it becomes pretty routine after a while. Plus there’s tons of TAs and students to ask if you’re really stuck..

        LOL diffusion and active transport will continue to haunt you in 2nd year Biology. There’s no escape D: Yeah BIOL 112 notes aren’t too great. People apparently like the Freeman textbook, but I personally couldn’t make any sense out of it. I actually understand more of the stuff from my current microbiology class than the microbio stuff in BIOL 112… and I’m pretty much doing review of BIOL 112 stuff right now…

thoughts..?

