RandomRamblings: Annual UBC Freshman Reception, Academics, Imagine Day

I really don’t know what the heck is wrong with my mouse(it won’t let me highlight properly, or click things properly,it’s just being super stupid.), on my desktop computer(the one I’m using right now) …I’m pretty sure its time is up 😦 ….and it may need to get replaced. Besides it feels cooler to write blogs on a laptop anyway.. πŸ˜›

ANNUAL UBC FRESHMAN RECEPTION

So this is happening on Monday, August 29th ……IT’S THE END OF AUGUST…OH WOW. Anyways, tomorrow, about 300+ students get together at UBC….to get talked to about a bunch of things. I feel like they didn’t COMPLETELY give us enough information as to what to expect, but I’m thinking for the most part we just go to workshops and pretty much get talked to, haha. I heard that last year was a success…and this year is supposed to be even better….so I will be the judge of that, once IΒ  attend it tomorrow, and I’ll share whatever is worth sharing with all you folks that care to read this. But the thing I’m looking forward to the most is, meeting people and just BEING AT UBC!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’ve heard so many good things from the people at JumpStart, I CAN’T WAIT!

ACADEMICS

I’m slightly feeling a bit uneasy at the fact that university is going to be so much harder than high school…just hard in a slightly different perspective. I mean, personally, I didn’t really find high school THAT hard….sure there were times when I didn’t get concepts and stuff, but I always knew that there were people there to help me, and I knew all my teachers super well. And at university, they DO have help available, it’s just the fact that people don’t fully branch out and use the available resources. And this year, my goal is to get to know all my professors at UBC…and to use ‘Office Hours’ wisely. I have heard from many students that their biggest regret in first and second years was not getting to know their professors. It definitely seems intimidating…but if you want to do well, you’ll need to step out of your comfort zone…. the whole first year experience is going to be ‘getting out of my comfort zone.’ FUN. But I just have to SUCK IT UP….and surround myself with supportive people that know how to balance academics and socializing.Β 

IMAGINE DAY

I just got an email from my MUG leader…SO EXCITING!! Imagine day is just 8 days away!!!! πŸ˜€ My MUG leader sounds pretty nice, and easy going….says me, judging from an email. HA. But I pretty much got a lowdown of what exactly is going to happen on Imagine Day….I really like to know what to expect before going to something, it’s just the way I am. πŸ˜€ And I really don’t even know ANYONE that is in my group….sooo I guess I’ll be surprised once I go to the meeting place…and see 9 random faces.. YAY. I hope I have a decent group of people, it’d be quite nice.

SIXDAYSUNTILMOVEIN.

thoughts..?

