READY TO ACCEPT THE CHALLENGE: UBC + ubc booklist 2011

I think I know way too many people that have gone to UBC/are currently IN UBC(2nd year +) …I know first years as well, but they’re all in the same boat as me, so they aren’t of much help..no offense fellow first years. πŸ™‚ So the ‘bad’ thing about knowing people that have gone to UBC is the fact that most of them say pretty much the same thing..’It’s not easy, and you have to work hard.’ But of course there are lots of good things about having those connections as well!

…At first I was pretty intimidated about it…as said in one of my previous posts, but now when I think about it…I can’t start university preparing myself for failure…I need to go with a POSITIVE attitude…and go thinking that I can do my best, and that I WILL do my best. It’ll definitely be tough at first, especially with having all that ‘independence’, ‘cuz in high school, teachers actually care if you fail a course..and at UBC(university in general) you’re practically on your own to do what you want, without having anyone to hold your hand and tell you to study and do your work. I really don’t want to ‘give up’ at all…and giving up isn’t an option, I know that I can surround myself with people that are motivated to do well, and it’ll just automatically rub off on me and help me. Obviously university life has to be balanced socially and academically, and finding that balance may be tough at first, but I’m certain I’ll find the right balance.

The main thing(I think) is to accept the fact that we’ll all make mistakes, and we’ll get marks that we despise against…and to come out as a ‘winner’ we have to just figure out what we can do to do better. After all, we learn from our mistakes. Dwelling on the past doesn’t work out in our favour for the most part…so press forward. πŸ™‚

AND AS A SIDEΒ  NOTE: since everyone has been wondering when the booklist comes out…it comes out on August 13th.

4 thoughts on “READY TO ACCEPT THE CHALLENGE: UBC + ubc booklist 2011

  1. It may not be as easy to get great marks like back in high school, but it actually isn’t thaaaaaat bad overall… could be worse. Some of the rumours about certain courses are way exaggerated, but I agree with certain ones (BIOL 112!!!!!) Actually I’m not even sure why I bash on BIOL 112 so much, BIOL 140 was worse.

    • yeah, you’re kinda bashful on biol 112 πŸ˜› but yeah i’ve heard biol 140 is incredibly time consuming and a pain. one of the advisors even told me that, that was the one science course that practically every student complains about!! πŸ˜›

      • I think the main reason why its such a frustrating course is because you don’t even know WHAT the TAs look for when they mark. :S There’s no clear marking rubric at all…. the TAs give a few useless comments on your papers, and then award you with a random low grade. It’s really hard to get an A or A+ :(… sometimes A- too.

    • sooo I was thinking about it…long and hard…and so i wound up on the waiting list..cuz there was one spot left….BIOL 140….. 😦 what exactly do you do..and what’s the exam like …considering it’s just a lab course…and sorry if this sounds stupid..but it IS every week ??? not every second week like the other labs?

thoughts..?

