UBC Blog Squad..

I’ve been contemplating over whether I want to apply for the UBC Blog Squad or not…

The application deadline is on Friday August 12th …which is exactly a week from today. I have downloaded the application..and filled out some things…but I still have no idea whether I want to fill out the rest and actually send it in.. :/I mean I’m not saying that if I send it in, I will FOR SURE get accepted or ANYTHING along the lines of that. And if I do end up filling the rest out and sending it in…I won’t get upset if I don’t get accepted…I’m going to take that whatever happens, it’s for the best. After all, everything happens for a reason. 🙂

PROS(if applied and accepted)?

-Lots of people actually read the blogs on UBC Blog Squad… so whatever I had to say…it’d be read by a lot more people than the people that read THIS blog.

-The majority of the people that read that would be strictly UBC students/prospective students. Whereas, this blog probably isn’t read by very many UBC students. So in a way it’d be more helpful to other people.

-I really want to help out the people that are going to be going to UBC, based on my experiences.

-There are perks to it, meeting with other bloggers and all that stuff(including UBC events).

-It sounds really cool.. I’ve always WANTED to have a blog that’s part of a school thing.. 😛

-I’d probably get more feedback about the posts on there…

 

CONS(if applied and accepted)?

-It’s not anonymous.

-I can’t write about just ANYTHING.

-It might be a bit difficult to run two blogs…especially with one(this one) being anonymous.. I wouldn’t do ‘double posts’..meaning whatever I post on there WILL NOT be posted on here.

-I don’t know if this is a con or a pro…maybe a bit of both? I might have to split up what I post on each blog..such as, not make any more posts about UBC on this blog…

-Any prospective students reading THIS blog, won’t know about my other blog..

 

Hmmmm.

 

4 thoughts on “UBC Blog Squad..

  1. Not sure if you knew this or not, but you can get a UBC blog without being part of the Blogsquad. Anyway, I’m glad you applied for the Blogsquad because you update a lot more than a lot of the bloggers on it!

    • hmm..I think I may have stumbled across some of those blogs in the past….like a few months back….but do you know where I can find some details about the non Blog Squad blogging??? And thanks haha, I try my best to update as much as possible, if I have something to say. 😛 But we’ll see what happens with the application.

  2. “-Lots of people actually read the blogs on UBC Blog Squad… so whatever I had to say…it’d be read by a lot more people than the people that read THIS blog.”

    It doesn’t seem like that in my opinion, but it’s probably true? I don’t think the Blog Squad actually does much advertising to get new students to know that it exists, but maybe I’m not looking in the right places… But I know for sure that I always get Facebook notifications about new Blog Squad posts from the UBC Centre for Student Involvement page/group/thing. Sooo maybe that’s where people do their clicking lolol

    “-Any prospective students reading THIS blog, won’t know about my other blog..”

    Just leave a link on your sidebar and people will find it eventually LOL. Apparently it’s working to make people go to my other Biotech blog. ;d

thoughts..?

