Study!Study!Study! TIPS!

These are just some tips for studying (mostly aimed at high school students). And I can say I am an experienced person, I have learned lots and I’ve made mistakes with some study habits..and have yet to figure out some more efficient study tips for UNIVERSITY!

STUDY TIPS + METHODS

First of all, no two people study in the same way..so some of these tips might work for some, but might not work for others. I have a friend who BARELY studied AT ALL outside of school(or in school really) ..he was really good at retaining information from the teacher…he’d ask lots of questions in class(they were really good questions too!) and that was his method of studying. He didn’t really need to memorize the textbook in order to study. It seems so simple..but unfortunately that method does not work for me, if I went through with that method, my results would be disastrous. In some ways I am a self learner, I need to read things for myself, but having a teacher explain doubts and stuff does really help. Some people cram and I agree that it DOES work..but it’s not efficient. Cramming works for a small test, but you end up forgetting the majority of what you crammed after the test is over(I am guilty of that). So I wouldn’t really RECOMMEND it. And then most people know the cue card method…some people like to write a question on one side, and then the answer on the other side..I personally find that to be a waste of cue cards, so I just try to put as many questions as possible on one… write the question in one colour, and the answer in another colour.

Going into grade 11 and 12, we had the same teacher for some courses, and the one thing he said and EMPHASIZED, especially in grade 12, was to review course material every day for about 10 minutes once you got home. Yeah…I never took that seriously, I just thought that our teacher was crazy, but at the end of the year, once it got to final exam time…I realized I was crazy for not listening to my teacher. He was so right! Reviewing material as often as you can REALLY REALLY REEALLYYYY is the best idea and best method of studying. And I definitely regret not listening to him, as do my friends…we all struggled during final exam time.

PRACTICE QUESTIONS

Always do your homework..sometimes teachers will give out assignments that aren’t worth marks at all, and you might have the ‘option’ of doing them…don’t take the easy way out and not do it…DO IT!! Assignments really help set the concepts in stone for you. Do as many practice questions as possible. I am the queen of doing practice questions. Especially once I got into grade 12. WHY? Because I realized that they really help. My first Physics 12 test..was honestly the worst thing ever. I thought I had studied enough by looking over notes and doing like 5 practice problems..when I got my test back..I pretty much cried…I had a low C…I had never in my life gotten such a low mark! I just wanted to quit school at that moment. But obviously that’s not the ‘wisest’ choice…plus my parents would probably kill me! haha! So I thought to myselfย  ‘What can I do about this..?’..so before the next test I did SOOOOOOO many practice questions, like probably 30-50 questions…(these were old provincial exam questions, you can just google ‘belmont provincial exam archive’. And I did my test, got my results back, I got 95% …..I was like WOW. I wasn’t even strong in grade 11 Physics, my marks were mainly in the 70s-low 80s..except somehow magically I got 87% on the Physics 11 final. And then I carried on with this trend of doing so many practice questions for each unit..and my first test and last test in Physics 12 were TOTAL OPPOSITES mark wise. I went from a low C on my first test……to 98% on my last test. I went from strongly disliking physics to having a SLIGHT interest(my main drive was motivation to do well). And remember this applies to all subjects…do as many practice questions as you can, and if you find that you don’t understand a concept..go back in your notes and/or textbook and READ THAT SECTION OVER UNTIL YOU UNDERSTAND IT!

BALANCE

You want to balance your lifestyle as well. Don’t sit at home and study 24/7. You need to exercise, eat right, socialize, do fun stuff, study, and get enough sleep. If all you do is study, then you’ll just get bored of it, and sooner or later you’ll think you’re studying..but you won’t be retaining information. Time management is key, if that’s not your strong point, then you might want to make yourself a visual timetable, stating when to do what.

MOTIVATION AND COMMITMENT

I kind of went over this before, but self-motivation is KEY. If you’re not into something, then how do you do well in it? Don’t do something for the sake of it..when it comes to getting good marks, it benefits you, so you should be motivating yourself to do well! If you get a bad test mark, then don’t be down about it, think of ways to IMPROVE your mark. Bad tests are really opportunities to do better in the future, change your study habits, do whatever you can. I used to be the kind of kid that couldn’t handle getting low marks..but you’re going to gain absolutely nothing if you pout about it. It just means it’s a time for CHANGE. Be committed to schoolwork..do the best you can. I have some friends who at the end of grade 12 said they wished they did better in school and actually paid attention..cuz they felt like they could have actually done well. You don’t want to get to that point where you regret how you acted about school. For example..I went into Calculus 12 thinking that I was going to drop it by the end of the first week, my friend and I both went into it like that. Although my friend followed through and just dropped it. I had the tiniest bit of motivation to keep going…and almost every few weeks I’d say I’d drop it..but something in me just kept me going, as well as the support of my friends and teacher and family(which I am sooo grateful for). And eventually I finished Calc 12…definitely wasn’t my best course..but I had the willpower and commitment to stay in it..and I finished it, and it felt good!! Plus it prepares me for university math. But DO NOT go into a class saying you’ll drop it! BAD IDEA!!!!

ORGANIZATIONAL SKILLS

STAY ORGANIZED! Keep all your notes and review assignments and everything together! Binders work GREAT! You don’t want it to be time for final exams or just regular chapter tests and not know where all your notes are! Disorganization wastes time that shouldn’t be wasted! Don’t throw our reviews or anything that your teacher gives you. In Math 11, my teacher gave us chapter reviews before every test, she gave us two per chapter…and I wasn’t very good at keeping them..I somehow always lost my math reviews..and then year end finals came..and I was screwed. Everyone had their reviews except me..but thankfully I have awesome friends and they let me use theirs! So that’s a mistake you should avoid. Definitely learned my lesson there!

REVIEW!REVIEW!REVIEW!

As I said before..review course material every day, or as often as you can! Set aside time in your day to just review things, it really helps and before you know it, you’ll actually master all the concepts! Just don’t cram, unless absolutely necessary and unavoidable, and there is absolutely no other option. Biology is a lot of memorization…so taking notes from your textbook really helps..and when taking notes, don’t rewrite the textbook….pretend you’re highlighting…and just write down the things you’re highlighting, and if you’re not sure what to study, ask the teacher, teachers love it when students ask them questions, it shows that you have a learning attitude. And also remember to read your textbook…don’t just rely on the notes your teacher gives you. Chemistry is also memorization to an extent PLUS applying concepts, soย  you need a good understanding of the concepts. History and Law and other Humanities type courses are usually all memorization of dates + key terms and events. Physics and Math courses…UNDERSTAND THE CONCEPTS..memorization and doing things mechanically won’t take you very far, so do as many practice questions as you can for these.

GET RID OF DISTRACTIONS

Facebook is the greatest distraction of all time!! Seriously, it’s a waste of valuable time…I sometimes find myself sitting in front of the computer on Facebook for more time than needed. FACEBOOK MAKES YOUR MARKS DROP. Best thing is to not sit in front of a computer while doing homework. Cell phones are also distracting..you just HAVE to text back someone if they text you.. haha. Just stash your phone for as long as you can. And remember you CAN take breaks in between studying!!!

TEST TAKING

The night before a test, don’t panic and cram..just relax…go over your notes..and get a good night’s sleep..and have the attitude that you will do FANTASTIC! Aim for a 100%. Go into a test/exam with a positive attitude. BE CONFIDENT. If you studied efficiently, you’ll do fine! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good Luck!

HOPE THESE HELP! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Study!Study!Study! TIPS!

  1. My personal report card for 1st year related to above:

    STUDY METHODS C+
    PRACTICE QUESTIONS A (practice exams hell yeah)
    BALANCE D because I had an irregular sleeping pattern
    MOTIVATION AND COMMITMENT D
    REVIEW B-
    DISTRACTIONS F
    TEST TAKING Uhh B+ in term 1, F in term 2

    There needs to be tips on how to study boring courses. T_T

    • doing practice exams + questions really boosts your mark up by a letter grade or two!! haha
      do you really get distracted THAT easily?? ๐Ÿ˜› i’m scared that that will happen to ME!!!
      and boring courses…hopeless.. ๐Ÿ˜› is it true that for bio 112 the whole final exam is fully multiple choice questions?? and midterms are during regular class hours???

      • I dunno, I think it’s just bad habits trailing in from high school. Haven’t really adjusted from “slacking+still get A” yet LOL, and it’s been almost a year arrrrhghg

        All BIOL 112 exams/midterms are multiple choice that are just a pain in the ass to answer. Example from a REAL PRACTICE QUESTION:

        14. Information storage and transfer are the critical functions of nucleic acids. Which of the following is/are important characteristics of the sugar phosphodiester ester linkages in the backbone of DNA and RNA for the information storage function?

        1) it is a high energy bond allowing for rapid synthesis.
        2) it is ionic allowing the molecule to be readily water soluble.
        3) it allows free rotation so the molecules can form a secondary structure.
        4) it is asymmetric so that the strands have an overall orientation.

        A. All of the above.
        B. Only 2 is significant.
        C. 1, 2, and 3 are all important.
        D. Only 1 and 3 are important.
        E. Only 4 is important.

        I don’t even remember the answer ahahahh

        Midterm time and location depends on what the prof wants… sometimes it’s scheduled out of class time, and sometimes you have to write one in-class. Sometimes you will get classes cancelled for midterms, but usually you will not ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

thoughts..?

